The 24th Annual Producers Guild Awards took place this past Saturday at the Beverly Hilton in California. Top honors in the motion picture category went to the movie “Argo,” which tells of the rescue mission to free hostages during the Iranian revolution in 1979.

PHOTO: Ben Affleck
PHOTO: Ben Affleck
(credit Zimbio)

Ben Affleck, George Clooney and Grant Heslov received the award. Clooney was absent from the event, but Affleck, who also stars in the film, said it was ‘incredible and exciting.’ Heslov added some humor saying that the hardest part of making this movie was working with two producers who have been named ‘sexiest man alive’.

Much has been said about Affleck being snubbed by the Academy for not receiving a Best Director nomination when the film has been recognized in the Best Picture category. At the Golden Globes, Affleck won two awards for best motion picture and best director. If the last five years are any indication, the film has a good chance to win the Oscar for best motion picture later this year, since the winner of the PGA has gone on to win the Academy Awards.

Other winners at the PGA include ABC’s ‘Modern Family,’ which won the award for episodic comedy for the third year in a row, while Showtime’s ‘Homeland’ won its first PGA Award in the drama series category. HBO’s ‘Game Change’ took top prize in the producer’s category for long-form television programs.

Highlights of the night included the special recognition awards presented. Robert De Niro, Quentin Tarantino and Robert Rodriguez presented the PGA’s Milestone Award to Bob and Harvey Weinstein (‘The Artist’, ‘The King’s Speech’).

Anne Hathaway, who is nominated for an Oscar for her performance in ‘Les Misérables,’ presented the PGA’s David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures to Tim Bevan and Eric Fellner, the British producers who head up Working Title, which produced ‘Les Mis’ with Universal.

Jennifer Garner presented the Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television to J.J. Abrams, who recently signed up to direct the new ‘Star Wars: Episode VII’ film.