Emeli Sande opened up about her new album, ‘Long Live the Angels’ which is the followup to her critically acclaimed 2012 debut, ‘Our Version of Events.’ The Zambian-Scottish soul singer-songwriter spoke about her new music and why she took a three-year hiatus.

Emeli Sande

Photo: Emeli Sande
Credit: PR Photos

It what that critically acclaimed album, ‘Our Version of Events’ that launched her to international stardom and critics lauded her as an exciting new voice in pop music. Perhaps the L.A. Times summed it up best in saying, “In comparison to the drudge that is contemporary mainstream American pop and R&B, Emeli’s folk-inflected soul/pop is Nina Simone and Bob Dylan all in one.”

After the staggering success of her first album, and the popularity of the singles it spawned, including ‘Heaven’ which became a worldwide smash hit — she took a long hiatus which is now drawing to a close as she releases ‘Long Live the Angels’ on November 11th.

She told Billboard, “”I think the new is just a lot more grown up.” Elaborating, she added, “I think I really know myself a lot better and have confidence in who I am and I think that’s reflected in the music.”

She also spoke about one of the tracks ‘Tenderly,’ which features her Zambian father. She said of it, “”I visited Zambia three years ago and we would always sing and my dad was recording lots of things so I really wanted that to be part of the album,” she said. “That track just made sense naturally.”

Yes, the wait is nearly over. She recently opened up about her hiatus and said, “Sounds a bit dramatic, but I just wanted to disappear.” Elaborating, she added, “I just had this overwhelming sensation and realization everything had to stop. And then slowly it did.”

Here’s the full track list for ‘Long Live the Angels’

1. ‘Selah’
2. ‘Breathing Underwater’
3. ‘Happen’
4. ‘Hurts’
5. ‘Give Me Something’
6. ‘Right Now’
7. ‘Shakes’
8. ‘Garden’ (feat. Jay Electronica & Áine Zion)
9. ‘I’d Rather Not’
10. ‘Lonely’
11. ‘Sweet Architect’
12. ‘Tenderly’ (feat. Joel Sande & The Serenje Choir)
13. ‘Every Single Little Piece’
14. ‘Highs And Lows’
15. ‘Babe’

You can see the cover art for Emeli Sande’s new album Long Live the Angels’ and hear two of the tracks – Hurs and Garden — below.

A photo posted by Emeli Sandé (@emelisande) on

Pictures: PR Photos