The new Coldplay album ‘A Head Full of Dreams,’ tracklist and the release date were all announced as the lead single ‘Adventure of a Lifetime’ premiered. Yes, all in one fell swoop, this, now the anticipation and excitement is in full swing. It will be the first album of new music from the iconic British rock band since last year’s ‘Ghost Stories.’

Photo: Coldplay
Credit: PR Photos

The surprise album and the quasi-surprise album are being the norm these days and Coldplay just gave the world a double surprise. ‘A Head Full of Dreams’ is due out on December 4 via Parlophone/Atlantic Records and it’s the band’s seventh album. The band has had a string of critically acclaimed albums that have spawned some major hits, notably 2008’s Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends and the single, ‘Viva la Vida,’ one of the biggest hits of the 2000s.

And now the new album boasts quite a lineup of guest artists including Beyonce, Noel Gallagher, Tove Lo, and Merry Clayton. You can see the full tracklisting below.

Yes, the Beyonce collaboration has especially drawn much notice and in retrospect seems long overdue. It leads one to wonder, and perhaps even to Google to find out if in fact this really is the first such collaboration. Well, the answer is almost, the first, as she and frontman Chris Martin once teamed up for performance of her smash hit ‘Halo,’ on the ‘Hope for Haiti Now’ telethon several years ago.

And add to this the speculation as to whether this is going to be Coldplay’s final album. Chris Martin gave an interview to BBC Radio last December, and one quote in particular went viral and now, with the pending release of this new album, it’s getting renewed notice. In his own words, he said at the time, ““It’s our seventh thing and the way we look at it is like the last Harry Potter book or something. Not to say there might not be another thing one day but this is the completion of something.”

Fast forwarding to the present, in an interview with Billboard, coinciding with the announcement of the new album, Chris Martin said of it, “We just wanted to make this big, colorful, joyful thing called A Head Full of Dreams. So just after we did that little bit of promo for Ghost Stories the last album, we went right back in [the studio] and didn’t emerge until about a month ago.”

Here’s the full tracklisting of ‘A Head Full of Dreams’

1. “A Head Full of Dreams”
2. “Birds”
3. “Hymn for the Weekend”
4. “Everglow”
5. “Adventure of a Lifetime”
6. “Fun” feat. Tove Lo
7. “Kaleidoscope”
8. “Army of One”
9. “Amazing Day”
10. “Colour Spectrum”
11. “Up&Up”
12. “X Marks the Spot” (Hidden Track)

While we wait for the A Head Full of Dreams’ album — and hope it won’t be their last! — listen to the full audio of the single ‘“Adventure of a Lifetime’ via the video below!

A photo posted by Coldplay (@coldplay) on