The Eric Clapton 70th birthday concert at MSG featuring several guests including John Mayer was an iconic moment in music history. See video video highlights, the full set-list and a roundup of reviews from music critics of the first of several celebratory concerts.

Eric Clapton

Photo: Eric Clapton
Credit: PR Photos

Eric Clapton has reached a milestone birthday, earlier this year, on March 30th to be precise, and now, with a series of concerts, the three-time Rock and Roll Hall of Fameer is sharing his celebration with the concert going public, kicking off in New York City at Madison Square Garden.

It’s quite a legacy to celebrate, after all. Clapton has the distinction of being the only music artist ever inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame three times; as a member of Cream and of The Yardbirds as well as a solo artist.

And there are so many iconic songs, from ‘I Shot the Sheriff’ to ‘Tears in Heaven’ to ‘Lay Down Sally’ and ‘Sunshine of Your Life’ and many more. With decades of memorable music to explore, it’s not surprising that — to quote some familiar song lyrics — he celebrated with a little help from his friends.

John Mayer was among the first, as the two performed his classic ‘Pretending.’ Other guests on stage at MSG were Derek Trucks, Doyle Bramhall II and Jimmie Vaughan.

The music critics were both deferential and impressed and gave the rock legend rave reviews. A roundup is below, followed by the set-list and video highlights.

“…It’s tempting to look at Friday’s show as some kind of passing of the torch, especially in the cases of the relatively youthful Mayer, 37, and Trucks, 35, who have been widely hailed as two of the greatest guitarists of their generation. […] But Clapton played so well and radiated so much happiness and contentment onstage that he seemed destined to be doing this for many more years to come….” — North Jersey

“….As always, Clapton’s leads found a more expressive voice than his singing. He also cleared ample space in the songs for the enthusiastic keyboard work of Chris Stainton, who, at times, matched him solo for solo. […] Luckily, the star’s high points reached high enough to remind fans of why he became a legend in the first place. Sometimes, the guest guitarists helped spur him to that….” — New York Daily News

Check out the full set-list below.

1. Somebody Knockin’ On My Door
2. Key To The Highway
3. Pretending
4. Hootchie Cootchie Man
5. You Are So Beautiful
6. Can’t Find My Way Home
7. I Shot The Sheriff
8. Driftin’ Blues
9. Nobody Knows You When Your Down and Out
10. Tears In Heaven
11. Layla
12. Before You Accuse Me
13. Wonderful Tonight
14. Let It Rain
15. Crossroads
16. LIttle Queen of Spades
17. Cocaine
18. High Time We Went

The critics have had their say, and now you can too. Relive the memorable night; Eric Clapton, 70th birthday concert at MSG video highlights are below!

“I Shot the Sheriff”


“Pretending” ft. John Mayer

“High Time We Went”

Pictures: PR Photos